New Zealand Announce World Cup Team

Rowing NZ Team Announcement

3 minute read
Words Row360
Photography Benedict Tufnell
Published 07.02.24

Rowing New Zealand have announced their team for the 2024 World Rowing Cup II which will be held in Lucerne, Switzerland at the end of May. These crews will be targeting the upcoming Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

Rowing New Zealand women's single scull Olympic champion Emma Twigg
Photo Olympic Champion Emma Twigg
Credit Benedict Tufnell

New Zealand’s team has ten Tokyo Olympic medallists, one of which will be aiming to defend their Olympic gold medal. Emma Twigg is set to compete at her fifth Olympic Games. At the 2023 World Rowing Championships the defending Olympic Champion won a silver medal behind Dutch sculler Karolien Florijn

Thomas Mackintosh, the Olympic gold medallist from the Tokyo men’s eight, has been named as the men’s single sculler. Mackintosh started this Olympiad in the men’s pair but successfully switched to the single last year, winning a bronze medal at Lucerne Regatta and another at Belgrade.

New Zealand sent two eights to Tokyo, their women’s eights won a silver medal behind the Canadians, but this Olympiad Rowing New Zealand have concentrated on the small boats. The last time a New Zealand eight raced at the World Rowing Championships was in 2019. 

Jordan Parry and Robbie Manson enter the highly competitive men’s double sculls. Last year Manson, who holds the world best time in the men’s single scull, made a comeback and finished 11th at Belgrade securing the final direct spot to Paris. Tokyo M1x Olympian Parry will team up with the veteran sculler to form a new combination.

Kerri Williams will join her sister Jackie Gowler in the women’s four after taking a year out of international competition. At Tokyo they won silver in the eight, after five-time world champion Williams won gold with the now-retired Grace Prendergast in the pair. Olympic silver medallists Lucy Spoors and Brooke Francis will race in the women’s double sculls.

The women’s lightweight double is an unchanged lineup from last year’s A-Finalists at Belgrade. Jackie Kiddle determined to make her long awaited Olympic debut.

Olympic men’s eight gold medallists Dan Williamson and Phillip Wilson will race in the men’s pair. Their former Olympic crewmates Matt MacDonald and Tom Murray will race in the men’s four, which won bronze medals at Lucerne and Belgrade in 2023.

New Zealand qualified eight boats for the 2024 Olympics at last year’s world champions in Belgrade, Serbia.


Women’s Single Scull

Emma Twigg, Hawkes Bay Rowing Club

Coach: Mike Rodger

Women’s Double Scull

Lucy Spoors, Canterbury Rowing Club

Brooke Francis, Waikato Rowing Club

Coach: James Coote

Women’s Lightweight Double Scull

Jackie Kiddle, Star Boating Club

Shannon Cox, Canterbury Rowing Club

Coach: James Coote

Women’s Coxless Four

Jackie Gowler, Aramoho Whanganui Rowing Club

Davina Waddy, Canterbury Rowing Club

Kerri Williams, Aramoho Whanganui Rowing Club

Phoebe Spoors, Canterbury Rowing Club

Coach: Tom Stannard

Men’s Single Scull

Tom Mackintosh, Hawkes Bay Rowing Club

Coach: Gary Roberts

Men’s Double Scull

Robbie Manson, Waikato Rowing Club

Jordan Parry, Tauranga Rowing Club

Coach: Gary Roberts

Men’s Coxless Pair

Dan Williamson, Auckland Rowing Club

Phillip Wilson, Petone Rowing Club

Coach: Malcolm McIntyre

Men’s Coxless Four

Matt Macdonald, North Shore Rowing Club

Tom Murray, Blenheim Rowing Club

Logan Ullrich, Waikato Rowing Club

Oliver Maclean, North Shore Rowing Club

Coach: Mike Rodger

Reserve Men’s Pair

Ben Taylor, Avon Rowing Club

Campbell Crouch, Waikato Rowing Club

Coach: Malcolm McIntyre

Tour Manager

Lisa Holton