New Year Honours 2022

Four GB Paralympic Champions recognised for their services to rowing.

Words Tom Ransley
Photography Benedict Tufnell
Published 01.01.22

Great Britain’s Tokyo 2020 Paralympic PR3 Mix4+ gold-medal-winners Ellen Buttrick, Giedrė Rakauskaitė, Ollie Stanhope and Erin Kennedy have received MBEs in the New Year Honours List 2022. Teammate James Fox previously received an MBE for his services to rowing in the wake of his winning-effort at Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

Photo GBR PR3 Mix4+
Credit Benedict Tufnell

“I am delighted to be included in the New Year’s Honours List along with my wonderful team mates from the mixed coxed four. It is an unbelievable privilege,” says cox Erin Kennedy. “As the Games took place without spectators, we weren’t able to share the experience with our friends and family so it’s a real joy to be able to celebrate this honour with them over the festive period!”

The four British Paralympians will be invited to attend an investiture to receive their MBEs later in 2022. A trip to Buckingham Palace awaits.

Photo Cox Erin Kennedy of GBR PR3 Mix4+
Credit Benedict Tufnell