Global locations confirmed for coastal and indoor championships

Lausanne, Switzerland.

2 minute read
Words Benedict Tufnell
Photography Benedict Tufnell & Igor Meijer
Published 01.07.20

The World Rowing Federation has announced the cities and member federations that will host the 2022, 2023 and 2024 World Rowing Indoor Championships and the 2022 and 2023 World Rowing Coastal Championships and Beach Sprint Finals. According to the World Rowing website the cities of Hamburg (GER), Toronto (CAN), Prague (CZE), Saundersfoot (Wales, GBR), and Sabaudia (ITA) have all won attribution to host a World Rowing Championship.

The World Rowing Indoor Championships will take place over two days while the Coastal Championships and Beach Sprints Finals will span over two consecutive weekends. The exact competition dates are yet to be set.

“After the growth and success of the 2018, 2019 and 2020 World Rowing Indoor Championships and after a virtual event in 2021, we are looking forward to staging the event in these iconic cities,” says FISA President Jean-Christophe Rolland.

The World Rowing Coastal Championships combined with the Beach Sprint Finals – with rowers able to participate in both events – will expand to new locations in 2022 and 2023. The competition will take place along the shores of the Irish and Mediterranean Sea, in the two coastal towns of Saundersfoot, Wales and then in Sabaudia in Central Italy.

Photo Edwige Alfred (b), Pierrick Ledard (s), Coastal Mixed Double Sculls, France, Saturday Racing, 2019 World Rowing Beach Sprint Finals, Shenzhen, China
Credit World Rowing/Igor Meijer

“The exciting nature of coastal rowing will fit perfectly in these environments. We already know that the British and Italian Rowing Federations have the capability of staging world-class events and we are looking forward to working with organising committees to make these events truly memorable,” says Rolland.

The events have been allocated to the host cities as follows:

World Rowing Indoor Championships:

World Rowing Coastal Championships and Beach Sprint Finals: